Formula 1 Back to Turkey After Nine Years

Formula 1 Back to Turkey After Nine Years

Formula 1 returns to Turkey after nine years. Max Verstappen and the other drivers will race around the Istanbul Park circuit on Sunday, November 15.


This year’s calendar has also been expanded to include two races in Bahrain (November 29 and December 6) and the season close on December 13 in Abu Dhabi, the only races outside of Europe this year.

As a result, a total of seventeen Grand Prix will be held this year.

The Grand Prix of Turkey was last held in 2011, with Sebastian Vettel in a Red Bull car as the winner. “We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi have become part of the 2020 season,” said Chase Carey, Formula 1 boss.

Initially, the season would consist of 22 races. The Formula 1 organization has permanently cancelled the GP of China for this year.

That race was supposed to be held at the start of the season but was postponed until further notice. In 2020 it will no longer come from a competition on Chinese soil.

Formula 1 hopes to be able to allow a reduced number of spectators at a few races later this year. Where that will happen is not yet clear.

Leave a Reply

Back to top