EU Countries Agreed for Relaxation of the Entry Ban to European Residents

EU Countries Agreed for Relaxation of the Entry Ban to European Residents

The majority of EU countries have agreed to the gradual relaxation of the entry ban to Europe for residents of 14 countries from 1 July.


The United States, Turkey, India, Russia and Brazil, among others, are not included because of the relatively high number of corona infections.

Residents of Canada, Morocco, Japan, Australia, Rwanda, Uruguay, Algeria, Georgia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia and South Korea are in principle welcome back to Europe from Wednesday.

These countries are on the list of countries whose health situation regarding coronavirus is comparable or better than the average in Europe.

China is the fifteenth country on the list, but because of the so-called reciprocity principle, the Chinese can only enter Europe if the country also allows EU citizens.

EU countries still have to transpose the recommendation into national regulations, so that delays or additional restrictions can be imposed.

The country list was drawn up after lengthy consultations and was not accepted by all countries. For example, due to the importance of tourism, some southern Member States had insisted on a more extensive list, while countries such as the Netherlands had advocated caution.

Because there was no consensus, it came to a vote. Travel restrictions for countries that are not on the list are not intended to be relaxed.

Leave a Reply

Back to top